Offalsnout | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Offalsnout is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Offalsnout
When Offalsnout leaves the battlefield, exile target card from a graveyard.
Evoke (You may cast this spell for its evoke cost. If you do, it's sacrificed when it enters the battlefield.)
Official Rulings for Offalsnout
4/1/2008 : If a creature spell cast with evoke changes controllers before it enters the battlefield, it will still be sacrificed when it enters the battlefield. Similarly, if a creature cast with evoke changes controllers after it enters the battlefield but before its sacrifice ability resolves, it will still be sacrificed. In both cases, the controller of the creature at the time it left the battlefield will control its leaves-the-battlefield ability.
4/1/2008 : When you cast a spell by paying its evoke cost, its mana cost doesn't change. You just pay the evoke cost instead.
4/1/2008 : Effects that cause you to pay more or less to cast a spell will cause you to pay that much more or less while casting it for its evoke cost, too. That's because they affect the total cost of the spell, not its mana cost.
4/1/2008 : Whether evoke's sacrifice ability triggers when the creature enters the battlefield depends on whether the spell's controller chose to pay the evoke cost, not whether he or she actually paid it (if it was reduced or otherwise altered by another ability, for example).
4/1/2008 : If you're casting a spell "without paying its mana cost," you can't use its evoke ability.