Nin, the Pain Artist | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Nin, the Pain Artist is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Nin, the Pain Artist
Official Rulings for Nin, the Pain Artist
9/22/2011 : The effect is not optional. The creature's controller can't choose to draw fewer than X cards.
9/22/2011 : If the creature is an illegal target when Nin's ability tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. No player will draw cards.
9/22/2011 : If the ability resolves, but the damage is prevented or redirected, the controller of the targeted creature will draw X cards, regardless of how much damage was dealt or what the damage was ultimately dealt to.
9/22/2011 : If the damage is lethal, the cards are drawn before the creature is destroyed (the next time state-based actions are checked).