SHARE
URL:
Link

Nemesis Trap | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Nemesis Trap is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Nemesis Trap is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.25
25

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Nemesis Trap

Card Name:
Nemesis Trap
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant — Trap

Card Text:
If a white creature is attacking, you may pay rather than pay Nemesis Trap's mana cost.
Exile target attacking creature. Put a token that's a copy of that creature onto the battlefield. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step.

Official Rulings for Nemesis Trap

3/1/2010 : If you cast Nemesis Trap for , you may still target any attacking creature, not just the white attacking creature.

3/1/2010 : An "attacking creature" is one that has been declared as an attacker this combat, or one that was put onto the battlefield attacking this combat. Unless that creature leaves combat, it continues to be an attacking creature through the end of combat step, even if the player it was attacking has left the game, or the planeswalker it was attacking has left combat.

3/1/2010 : If you cast Nemesis Trap during your opponent's declare attackers step, you'll put the token onto the battlefield before the declare blockers step begins and you can block with it this combat. If you cast Nemesis Trap later in the combat phase a, you won't be able to block with the token.

3/1/2010 : The token you put onto the battlefield copies exactly what was printed on the exiled creature and nothing more (unless it was copying something else or it was a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether the exiled creature was tapped or untapped, whether it had any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on. For example, if Nemesis Trap targets an animated Celestial Colonnade, the token you put onto the battlefield will be a Celestial Colonnade that's just a land. (Because of this, Nemesis Trap has received minor errata to specify that you put a token, not a "creature token," onto the battlefield.)

3/1/2010 : If the exiled creature was copying something else (for example, if it was a Jwari Shapeshifter), then your token enters the battlefield as a copy of whatever the exiled creature was copying.

3/1/2010 : If the exiled creature was a token, your token copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield.

3/1/2010 : If the exiled creature has in its mana cost (such as Protean Hydra), X is considered to be zero.

3/1/2010 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the exiled creature will trigger when the token is put onto the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.

3/1/2010 : If the targeted creature is an illegal target by the time Nemesis Trap resolves, the entire spell is countered. You won't get a token.

 
 

Comments on Nemesis Trap

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Nemesis Trap. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.