Necropede | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Necropede is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Necropede
When Necropede dies, you may put a -1/-1 counter on target creature.
Official Rulings for Necropede
1/1/2011 : Infect's effect applies to any damage, not just combat damage.
1/1/2011 : The -1/-1 counters remain on the creature indefinitely. They're not removed if the creature regenerates or the turn ends.
1/1/2011 : Damage from a source with infect is damage in all respects. If the source with infect also has lifelink, damage dealt by that source also causes its controller to gain that much life. Damage from a source with infect can be prevented or redirected. Abilities that trigger on damage being dealt will trigger if a source with infect deals damage, if appropriate.
1/1/2011 : If damage from a source with infect that would be dealt to a player is prevented, that player doesn't get poison counters. If damage from a source with infect that would be dealt to a creature is prevented, that creature doesn't get -1/-1 counters.
1/1/2011 : Damage from a source with infect affects planeswalkers normally.