Necromancy | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Necromancy is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Necromancy
When Necromancy enters the battlefield, if it's on the battlefield, it becomes an Aura with "enchant creature put onto the battlefield with Necromancy." Put target creature card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control and attach Necromancy to it. When Necromancy leaves the battlefield, that creature's controller sacrifices it.
Official Rulings for Necromancy
10/4/2004 : When putting a card onto the battlefield that requires a definition for its value or some other choice, you do what is needed to define the value or make the choice.
8/1/2005 : Necromancy enters the battlefield as an enchantment and then becomes an Enchant Creature Aura as a triggered ability upon entering the battlefield. It follows all the rules for Auras from then on.
4/1/2008 : If the creature card put onto the battlefield has Protection from Black (or anything that prevents this from legally being attached), this won't be able to attach to it. Then this will go to the graveyard as a State-Based Action, causing the creature to be sacrificed.
10/1/2009 : The sacrifice occurs only if you cast it using its own ability. If you cast it using some other effect (for instance, if it gained flash from Vedalken Orrery), then it won't be sacrificed.