Merchant Ship can't attack unless defending player controls an Island. Whenever Merchant Ship attacks and isn't blocked, you gain 2 life. When you control no Islands, sacrifice Merchant Ship.
Official Rulings for Merchant Ship
4/15/2013 : An ability that triggers when something "attacks and isn't blocked" triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.
Comments on Merchant Ship
Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Merchant Ship. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.