SHARE
URL:
Link

Meddling Mage | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Meddling Mage is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Meddling Mage is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

3.50
0

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Meddling Mage

Card Name:
Meddling Mage
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Human Wizard

Card Text:
As Meddling Mage enters the battlefield, name a nonland card.
The named card can't be cast.

Flavor Text:
"This violent wasteland is an indictment of its people. These cowards lack the will to oppose disorder."

Official Rulings for Meddling Mage

5/1/2009 : No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Meddling Mage's ability starts to work.

5/1/2009 : Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Meddling Mage enters the battlefield are not affected by Meddling Mage's ability.

5/1/2009 : Although the named card can't be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it's a permanent card).

5/1/2009 : You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected.

5/1/2009 : If a card with morph is named, that card may still be cast face down. Face-down cards have no names.

5/1/2009 : Some cards (such as Isochron Scepter, for example) let you cast a copy of a card. A copy of a card isn't actually a card, so Meddling Mage can't stop this.

5/1/2009 : Once Meddling Mage leaves the battlefield, the named card can be cast again.

 
 

Comments on Meddling Mage

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Meddling Mage. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.