SHARE
URL:
Link

Mask of the Mimic | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Mask of the Mimic is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Mask of the Mimic is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Mask of the Mimic

Card Name:
Mask of the Mimic
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
As an additional cost to cast Mask of the Mimic, sacrifice a creature.
Search your library for a card with the same name as target nontoken creature and put that card onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Official Rulings for Mask of the Mimic

10/4/2004 : You look for a card of the same name, the current type of the card does not matter.

10/4/2004 : You do not have to find a card if you do not want to.

10/4/2004 : If a copy card is targeted by this effect, you get to look for another copy of the card it is copying. This is because a copy card actually takes on the name and initial characteristics of what it copies.

4/15/2013 : You must sacrifice exactly one creature to cast this spell; you cannot cast it without sacrificing a creature, and you cannot sacrifice additional creatures.

4/15/2013 : Players can only respond once this spell has been cast and all its costs have been paid. No one can try to destroy the creature you sacrificed to prevent you from casting this spell.

 
 

Comments on Mask of the Mimic

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Mask of the Mimic. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.