Marath, Will of the Wild | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Marath, Will of the Wild is Legal in


Sets Marath, Will of the Wild is in




Official Oracle Text for Marath, Will of the Wild

Card Name:
Marath, Will of the Wild
Casting Cost:
Legendary Creature — Elemental Beast

Card Text:
Marath, Will of the Wild enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the amount of mana spent to cast it.
, Remove X +1/+1 counters from Marath: Choose one — Put X +1/+1 counters on target creature; or Marath deals X damage to target creature or player; or put an X/X green Elemental creature token onto the battlefield. X can't be 0.

Official Rulings for Marath, Will of the Wild

10/17/2013 : Marath, Will of the Wild has received minor errata. The text “X can’t be 0” was inadvertently omitted from the card. The correct Oracle wording appears above.

10/17/2013 : You announce the value of X as you activate the ability, and all instances of X in the activation cost are equal to the announced value. For example, if you choose 2 as the value of X, then you pay and remove two +1/+1 counters to pay the cost.

2/1/2014 : The amount of mana you spent to cast this creature is usually equal to its converted mana cost. However, you also include any additional costs you pay, including the cost imposed for casting your commander from the command zone.

2/1/2014 : You can’t choose to pay extra mana to cast a creature spell unless something instructs you to.

2/1/2014 : If Marath enters the battlefield without being cast, then no mana was spent to cast it. It will therefore enter the battlefield without any +1/+1 counters. If no other effects are increasing its toughness at that time, it will subsequently be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action.


Comments on Marath, Will of the Wild

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Marath, Will of the Wild. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.