SHARE
URL:
Link

Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.75
2

Tokens Related to Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs

Token
Set
Price
In-Stock

Ogre
0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs

Card Name:
Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs
Casting Cost:
Type:
Legendary Creature — Ogre Warrior

Card Text:
Whenever a creature an opponent controls attacks, if you're the defending player, put a 3/3 red Ogre creature token onto the battlefield unless that creature's controller pays .

Flavor Text:
Warning to those who scale the cliffs without paying tribute: It's a long way down.

Official Rulings for Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs

3/1/2010 : You're the defending player if a creature is attacking you or a planeswalker you control.

3/1/2010 : If you're the defending player, Kazuul's ability triggers once for each creature that attacks, not just once per combat. The attacking player chooses whether to pay or let you have an Ogre token each time one of those abilities resolves.

3/1/2010 : As the ability resolves, you can't put the Ogre token onto the battlefield without explicitly giving the attacking player the option to pay , even if the attacking player has forgotten about this ability.

3/1/2010 : The ability triggers and resolves during the declare attackers step. If you put an Ogre token onto the battlefield as a result, you may block with it during that combat phase.

3/1/2010 : If an attacking creature has a "Whenever this creature attacks" ability, that ability is put on the stack first, then Kazuul's ability is put on the stack. Although Kazuul's ability will resolve first, and potentially create an Ogre token, any target of the other ability will already have been chosen at this point, and thus could not have been the new Ogre token.

3/1/2010 : In a multiplayer game, the ability checks whether you're the defending player for each individual attacking creature. For example, if one creature attacks you and two creatures attack another player, Kazuul's ability triggers just once.

 
 

Comments on Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.