Karn Liberated | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Karn Liberated is Legal in


Sets Karn Liberated is in




Official Oracle Text for Karn Liberated

Card Name:
Karn Liberated
Casting Cost:
Planeswalker — Karn

Card Text:
+4: Target player exiles a card from his or her hand.
−3: Exile target permanent.
−14: Restart the game, leaving in exile all non-Aura permanent cards exiled with Karn Liberated. Then put those cards onto the battlefield under your control.

Official Rulings for Karn Liberated

6/1/2011 : Karn's first and third abilities are linked. Similarly, Karn's second and third abilities are linked. Only cards exiled by either of Karn's first two abilities will remain in exile when the game restarts.

6/1/2011 : A game that restarts immediately ends. The players in that game then immediately begin a new game. No player wins, loses, or draws the original game as a result of Karn's ability.

6/1/2011 : In a multiplayer games (a game that started with three or more players in it), any player that left the game before it was restarted with Karn's ability won't be involved in the new game.

6/1/2011 : The player who controlled the ability that restarted the game is the starting player in the new game. The new game starts like a game normally does:-- Each player shuffles his or her deck (except the cards left in exile by Karn's ability).-- Each player's life total becomes 20 (or the starting life total for whatever format you're playing).-- Players draw a hand of seven cards. Players may take mulligans.-- Players may take actions based on cards in their opening hands, such as Chancellors and Leylines.

6/1/2011 : After the pre-game procedure is complete, but before the new game's first turn, Karn's ability finishes resolving and the cards left in exile are put onto the battlefield. If this causes any triggered abilities to trigger, those abilities are put onto the stack at the beginning of the first upkeep step.

6/1/2011 : Creatures put onto the battlefield due to Karn's ability will have been under their controller's control continuously since the beginning of the first turn. They can attack and their activated abilities with in the cost can be activated.

6/1/2011 : Any permanents put onto the battlefield with Karn's ability that entered the battlefield tapped will untap during their controller's first untap step.

6/1/2011 : No actions taken in the game that was restarted apply to the new game. For example, if you were dealt damage by Stigma Lasher in the original game, the effect that states you can't gain life doesn't carry over to the new game.

6/1/2011 : Players won't have any poison counters or emblems they had in the original game.

6/1/2011 : In a Commander game, players put their commanders into the command zone before shuffling their deck.

6/1/2011 : The number of times a player has cast his or her commander from the command zone resets to zero. Also, the amount of combat damage dealt to players by each commander is reset to 0.

6/1/2011 : If a player's commander was exiled with Karn at the game restarted, that commander won't be put into the command zone at the beginning of the game. It will be put onto the battlefield when Karn's ability finishes resolving.

6/1/2011 : In a multiplayer game using the limited range of influence option, all players are affected and will restart the game, not just those within the range of influence of the ability's controller.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal. 7/1/2013If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. 7/1/2013If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it. 7/1/2013If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.


Comments on Karn Liberated

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Karn Liberated. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Gabriel Chase

Date: April 19, 2013


I pulled him from a Fat Pack。Then it turned out no–one was really interested in him!

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: April 19, 2013


If you've still got him, we'd be willing to buy it from you!

Author: Gabriel Chase

Date: May 03, 2013


For sure. I sleeved him up straightaway and he’s never left it! How much and what’s the process?

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: May 04, 2013


Awesome! Use the form on our Contact Page and someone will get back to you with a price and further instructions.