SHARE
URL:
Link

Jackal Familiar | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Jackal Familiar is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Jackal Familiar is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
28

Foil Jackal Familiar

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
3

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Jackal Familiar

Card Name:
Jackal Familiar
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Hound

Card Text:
Jackal Familiar can't attack or block alone.

Flavor Text:
"Let the gray-hairs keep their ravens and drakes. My familiar will be a reflection of me: bloodthirsty, with a predator's instinct."
—Taivang, barbarian warlord

Official Rulings for Jackal Familiar

10/1/2009 : "Can't attack alone" means Jackal Familiar can't be declared as an attacker during the declare attackers step unless at least one other creature is also declared as an attacker at that time (either by you or your Two-Headed Giant teammate).

10/1/2009 : "Can't block alone" has a similar meaning. Note that the other blocker(s) doesn't have to block the same attacker as Jackal Familiar.

10/1/2009 : Once Jackal Familiar has been legally declared as an attacking or blocking creature, how many other creatures it's attacking or blocking with no longer matters. For example, if Jackal Familiar and Canyon Minotaur both attack, then Canyon Minotaur leaves the battlefield, Jackal Familiar continues to attack even though it's now attacking alone.

10/1/2009 : An effect may put Jackal Familiar onto the battlefield attacking even if no other creatures are attacking. That's because it wasn't declared as an attacker in this case. Similarly, an effect may put Jackal Familiar onto the battlefield blocking even if no other creatures are blocking.

 
 

Comments on Jackal Familiar

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Jackal Familiar. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.