SHARE
URL:
Link

Imp's Mischief | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Imp's Mischief is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Imp's Mischief is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Imp's Mischief

Card Name:
Imp's Mischief
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Change the target of target spell with a single target. You lose life equal to that spell's converted mana cost.

Flavor Text:
"Do the innocent pay for the crimes of the guilty? Of course they do. That's the fate of the weak."
—Nicol Bolas

Official Rulings for Imp's Mischief

10/4/2004 : Once the spell resolves, the new target is considered to be targeted by the deflected spell. This will trigger any effects which trigger on being targeted.

10/4/2004 : This only targets the spell being changed, not the original or new target of the spell it is affecting.

10/4/2004 : The target of a spell that targets another spell on the stack can be changed to any other spell on the stack, even if the new target will resolve before the spell does.

10/4/2004 : You can't make a spell which is on the stack target itself.

10/4/2004 : You can choose to make a spell on the stack target this spell (if such a target choice would be legal had the spell been cast while this spell was on the stack). The new target for the deflected spell is not chosen until this spell resolves. This spell is still on the stack when new targets are selected for the spell.

10/4/2004 : If there is no other legal target for the spell, this does not change the target.

10/4/2004 : This does not check if the current target is legal. It just checks if the spell has a single target.

10/4/2004 : You choose the spell to target on announcement, but you pick the new target for that spell on resolution.

2/1/2007 : If there is no other legal target for the spell, the spell's target isn't changed. You still lose the life.

2/1/2007 : If a spell targets multiple things, you can't target it with Imp's Mischief, even if all but one of the targets has become illegal.

2/1/2007 : If a spell has multiple targets but is targeting the same thing with all of them (such as Seeds of Strength targeting the same creature three times), you can't target that spell with Imp's Mischief.

 
 

Comments on Imp's Mischief

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Imp's Mischief. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.