SHARE
URL:
Link

Immortal Coil | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Immortal Coil is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Immortal Coil is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.35
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Immortal Coil

Card Name:
Immortal Coil
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact

Card Text:
, Exile two cards from your graveyard: Draw a card.
If damage would be dealt to you, prevent that damage. Exile a card from your graveyard for each 1 damage prevented this way.
When there are no cards in your graveyard, you lose the game.

Official Rulings for Immortal Coil

10/1/2008 : The only difference between a colored artifact and a colorless artifact is, obviously, its color. Unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact requires colored mana to cast. Also unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact has a color in all zones. It will interact with cards that care about color. Other than that, a colored artifact behaves just like any other artifact. It will interact as normal with any card that cares about artifacts, such as Shatter or Arcbound Ravager.

10/1/2008 : The first ability exiles two cards in your graveyard as a cost. You can't activate this ability unless you have at least two cards in your graveyard. Exiling those two cards can't be responded to.

10/1/2008 : The second ability prevents all damage that would be dealt to you, regardless of how many cards are in your graveyard. For example, if you have three cards in your graveyard and would be dealt 5 damage, Immortal Coil prevents all 5 damage and exiles all the cards in your graveyard.

10/1/2008 : The third ability checks whether your graveyard is empty only at the time it triggers. Putting a card into your graveyard after that doesn't help. You'll lose the game when the ability resolves.

10/1/2008 : If the third ability is countered, but your graveyard is still empty, the ability will immediately trigger again.

10/1/2008 : If the third ability is countered, but your graveyard is still empty, the ability will immediately trigger again.

10/1/2008 : Similarly, if the third ability resolves but you don't lose the game for some reason (because you control Platinum Angel, perhaps), it will immediately trigger again if your graveyard is still empty. Immortal Coil + Platinum Angel + an empty graveyard is an involuntary infinite loop. Unless a player disrupts it, the game will end in a draw.

10/1/2008 : Suppose you control Immortal Coil and a planeswalker, and a source controlled by an opponent would deal noncombat damage to you. Both Immortal Coil and the planeswalker have effects that could affect that damage. You choose one to apply.-- If you apply Immortal Coil's effect, the damage is prevented. The planeswalker replacement effect is no longer applicable.-- If you apply the planeswalker replacement effect, your opponent then chooses whether he or she wants to redirect the damage to your planeswalker. If your opponent does, then that many loyalty counters are removed from the planeswalker, and Immortal Coil's effect is no longer applicable. If your opponent doesn't, then Immortal Coil's effect applies and the damage is prevented.

 
 

Comments on Immortal Coil

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Immortal Coil. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.