Illusionist's Bracers | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Illusionist's Bracers is Legal in


Sets Illusionist's Bracers is in




Official Oracle Text for Illusionist's Bracers

Card Name:
Illusionist's Bracers
Casting Cost:
Artifact — Equipment

Card Text:
Whenever an ability of equipped creature is activated, if it isn't a mana ability, copy that ability. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Flavor Text:
It's easy to believe you're a god when you're twice as powerful as everyone else.

Official Rulings for Illusionist's Bracers

1/24/2013 : An activated ability is written in the form “Cost: Effect.”

1/24/2013 : The copy will have the same targets as the ability it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

1/24/2013 : If the ability is modal (that is, it says “Choose one —” or the like), the copy will have the same mode. You can't choose a different one.

1/24/2013 : If the ability has in its cost, the value of X is copied.

1/24/2013 : If the cost of an activated ability requires Illusionist's Bracers or the equipped creature to be sacrificed, the ability won't be copied. At the time the ability is considered activated (after all costs are paid), Illusionist's Bracers is no longer equipped to that creature.

1/24/2013 : If Illusionist's Bracers somehow becomes equipped to a creature an opponent controls, and an activated ability (that isn't a mana ability) of that creature is activated, you will control the copy of that ability.

4/15/2013 : A mana ability is an ability that (1) isn't a loyalty ability, (2) doesn't target, and (3) could put mana into a player's mana pool when it resolves.


Comments on Illusionist's Bracers

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Illusionist's Bracers. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.