SHARE
URL:
Link

Hour of Need | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Hour of Need is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Hour of Need is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
11

Tokens Related to Hour of Need

Token
Set
Price
In-Stock

Sphinx
0.50
17

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Hour of Need

Card Name:
Hour of Need
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Strive — Hour of Need costs more to cast for each target beyond the first.
Exile any number of target creatures. For each creature exiled this way, its controller puts a 4/4 blue Sphinx creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

Official Rulings for Hour of Need

4/26/2014 : In a Commander game, if a commander is put into the command zone instead of being exiled by Hour of Need, its controller will still get a Sphinx token.

4/26/2014 : You choose how many targets each spell with a strive ability has and what those targets are as you cast it. It’s legal to cast such a spell with no targets, although this is rarely a good idea. You can’t choose the same target more than once for a single strive spell.

4/26/2014 : The mana cost and converted mana cost of strive spells don’t change no matter how many targets they have. Strive abilities affect only what you pay.

4/26/2014 : If all of the spell’s targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. If one or more of its targets are legal when it tries to resolve, the spell will resolve and affect only those legal targets. It will have no effect on any illegal targets.

4/26/2014 : If such a spell is copied, and the effect that copies the spell allows a player to choose new targets for the copy, the number of targets can’t be changed. The player may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, the player can’t choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

4/26/2014 : If a spell or ability allows you to cast a strive spell without paying its mana cost, you must pay the additional costs for any targets beyond the first.

 
 

Comments on Hour of Need

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Hour of Need. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.