SHARE
URL:
Link

Hellfire | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Hellfire is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Hellfire is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Hellfire

Card Name:
Hellfire
Casting Cost:
Type:
Sorcery

Card Text:
Destroy all nonblack creatures. Hellfire deals X plus 3 damage to you, where X is the number of creatures that died this way.

Flavor Text:
"High on a throne of royal state . . . insatiate to pursue vain war with heav'n."John Milton, Paradise Lost

Official Rulings for Hellfire

10/1/2009 : Hellfire checks the number of creatures put into graveyards as the result of its effect, not the number of creatures destroyed as a result of its effect. For example, a replacement effect that says "If a creature would be put into a graveyard from the battlefield, exile it instead" won't affect whether a creature is destroyed or not, but will affect whether it's put into a graveyard or not.

10/1/2009 : A creature that regenerates instead of being destroyed doesn't leave the battlefield, so it's not put into a graveyard.

10/1/2009 : A token creature that's destroyed is put into its owner's graveyard, and will be counted by Hellfire's effect. (Immediately after Hellfire finishes resolving, the token will cease to exist.)

 
 

Comments on Hellfire

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Hellfire. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.