Grixis Sojourners | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Grixis Sojourners is Legal in


Sets Grixis Sojourners is in




Official Oracle Text for Grixis Sojourners

Card Name:
Grixis Sojourners
Casting Cost:
Creature — Zombie Ogre

Card Text:
When you cycle Grixis Sojourners or it dies, you may exile target card from a graveyard.
Cycling (, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

Official Rulings for Grixis Sojourners

10/1/2008 : Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.

5/1/2009 : The triggered ability acts as a cycle-triggered ability or as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, as appropriate. The player who controls the triggered ability is the player who cycled the Sojourner, or the player who last controlled the Sojourner on the battlefield.

5/1/2009 : If you cycle this card, the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.

5/1/2009 : The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you'll draw a card.

5/1/2009 : You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That's because the cycling ability itself has no targets.

5/1/2009 : Grixis Sojourner's triggered ability may target Grixis Sojourners itself. By the time the ability triggers, Grixis Sojourner will already be in your graveyard.


Comments on Grixis Sojourners

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Grixis Sojourners. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.