Grimoire Thief | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Grimoire Thief is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Grimoire Thief
You may look at cards exiled with Grimoire Thief.
, Sacrifice Grimoire Thief: Turn all cards exiled with Grimoire Thief face up. Counter all spells with those names.
Official Rulings for Grimoire Thief
4/1/2008 : The last ability counters all spells on the stack with any of the appropriate names, no matter who controls them.
4/1/2008 : If a split card is turned face up, the ability counters all spells with the same name as either side of that split card.
7/1/2013 : Once a player gains control of Grimoire Thief, that player can look at all cards it exiled, even if those cards were exiled while someone else controlled Grimoire Thief.
7/1/2013 : Once a player is allowed to look at the exiled face-down cards, that player may continue to do so even after Grimoire Thief leaves the battlefield or another player gains control of it.