SHARE
URL:
Link

Grappling Hook | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Grappling Hook is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Grappling Hook is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.95
2

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Grappling Hook

Card Name:
Grappling Hook
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact — Equipment

Card Text:
Equipped creature has double strike.
Whenever equipped creature attacks, you may have target creature block it this turn if able.
Equip

Flavor Text:
Part tool, part weapon, part of the kor.

Official Rulings for Grappling Hook

10/1/2009 : If you control the triggered ability, you decide whether to have the targeted creature block the attacking creature at the time the ability resolves, not at the time blockers are declared.

10/1/2009 : If you choose to have the targeted creature block, the creature it must block is the one that was equipped by Grappling Hook at the time the ability triggered. It doesn't matter if Grappling Hook leaves the battlefield or somehow becomes attached to another creature.

10/1/2009 : If you choose to have the targeted creature block the creature that was equipped with Grappling Hook, but it isn't able to do so as blockers are declared (for example, because the attacking creature has flying and the targeted creature doesn't), the requirement to block does nothing. The targeted creature is free to block whichever creature its controller chooses, or block no creatures at all.

10/1/2009 : Tapped creatures, creatures that can't block as the result of an effect, creatures with unpaid costs to block (such as those from War Cadence), and creatures that aren't controlled by the defending player are exempt from effects that would require them to block. Such creatures can be targeted by the ability, but the requirement to block does nothing.

 
 

Comments on Grappling Hook

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Grappling Hook. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.