SHARE
URL:
Link

Grab the Reins | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Grab the Reins is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Grab the Reins is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Grab the Reins

Card Name:
Grab the Reins
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Choose one — Until end of turn, you gain control of target creature and it gains haste; or sacrifice a creature, then Grab the Reins deals damage equal to that creature's power to target creature or player.
Entwine (Choose both if you pay the entwine cost.)

Official Rulings for Grab the Reins

12/1/2004 : If you pay the entwine cost, you can sacrifice the creature you gain control of with Grab the Reins.

12/1/2004 : If you choose the "sacrifice a creature" mode, you choose the target of the damage on announcement, but don't choose what to sacrifice until resolution.  You must sacrifice a creature when Grab the Reins resolves, even if you don't want to. If you don't control any creatures at that time, Grab the Reins deals no damage.

12/1/2004 : If you cast this with Entwine, you don't get priority in the middle of resolution.  You can't steal something, do anything (like attack with it), and then sacrifice it.

 
 

Comments on Grab the Reins

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Grab the Reins. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.