Gideon, Champion of Justice | Magic: The Gathering

Formats Gideon, Champion of Justice is Legal in

Format:
Block Constructed
Standard (T2)
Extended
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander (EDH)
Legal:

Official Oracle Text for Gideon, Champion of Justice

Card Name:
Gideon, Champion of Justice
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Gideon

Card Text:
+1: Put a loyalty counter on Gideon, Champion of Justice for each creature target opponent controls.
0: Until end of turn, Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a Human Soldier creature with power and toughness each equal to the number of loyalty counters on him and gains indestructible. He's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.
-15: Exile all other permanents.

Official Rulings for Gideon, Champion of Justice

1/24/2013 : You put a loyalty counter on Gideon, Champion of Justice as part of the cost of activating the first ability. When that ability resolves, you count the number of creatures controlled by the target opponent and put that many additional loyalty counters on Gideon.

1/24/2013 : If the first ability is countered (perhaps because the target opponent is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve), you won't put any additional loyalty counters on Gideon, although the loyalty counter you put on him to activate the ability will remain.

1/24/2013 : If Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a creature due to his second ability, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.

1/24/2013 : Gideon, Champion of Justice's power and toughness are set to the number of loyalty counters on him when his second ability resolves. They won't change later in the turn if the number of loyalty counters on him changes.

1/24/2013 : If Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can't attack with him or use any of his abilities (if he gains any).

1/24/2013 : Gideon, Champion of Justice's second ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human and Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: Gideon is just a planeswalker type (not a creature type), and Human and Soldier are just creature types (not planeswalker types).

1/24/2013 : Say you activate Gideon, Champion of Justice's second ability, and then an opponent gains control of him before combat. You may have any of your creatures attack Gideon, Champion of Justice (since he's still a planeswalker). Then Gideon, Champion of Justice may block (since he's a creature). He may block any eligible attacking creature, including one that's attacking him! During combat, he behaves as an attacked planeswalker and/or a blocking creature, as appropriate. For example, he deals combat damage to any creatures he's blocking, but he doesn't deal combat damage to any unblocked creatures that are attacking him.

7/1/2013 : If damage that can't be prevented is dealt to Gideon, Champion of Justice after his second ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). Even though he has indestructible, if Gideon, Champion of Justice has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

Others who bought Gideon, Champion of Justice also bought...

Venser, the Sojourner
Chandra, the Firebrand
Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker
Tibalt, the Fiend-Blooded
Elspeth Tirel

Comments on Gideon, Champion of Justice

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Gideon, Champion of Justice. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Ashton

Date: January 02, 2013

Comment:

This card looks amazing!

Author: Kevin Lyon

Date: January 04, 2013

Comment:

gideon jura was 1000x times better and look at his value

Author: Ian Arnold

Date: January 04, 2013

Comment:

Im still a big fan of Jura and Sunblast Angel together. Especially if you can defend him well enough to survive.

Author: Jeffrey Cancel

Date: January 07, 2013

Comment:

I don't see how this card will see play....

Author: Eric Schumann

Date: January 07, 2013

Comment:

I did a deck with Jura, Sunblast Angel and Venser. I'd attack with the angel, then bounce it with Venser to destroy all their tapped creatures. It also had Tamiyo for tapping creatures. I almost always was able to get the emblems for Tamiyo and Venser.

Author: Kevin

Date: January 31, 2013

Comment:

idk this card is isnt that great by itself but combine it with both Vizkopa GuildMages abilities and u will see a lot of unhappy people.

Author: Simon

Date: February 02, 2013

Comment:

forbidden orchard?

Author: pickle

Date: October 22, 2013

Comment:

use his first ability a couple of times than his last than his first

Your Mana Pool

Log in to view your Mana Pool
Log In

Shopping Cart

...Cart is Empty...
 
Scavenging Ooze
Today Only:
25% Off!

 
Magic: The Gathering Flavor Text Quiz #2: Cryptic Texts
By Planeswalker's Library
 
The Humble Intro Pack
By Kyanna Kitt
 
New Mechanics of Journey into Nyx
By Planeswalker's Library
Pokémon Products In-stock!
Journey into Nyx Spoiler!
Born of the Gods Accessories!
Report Error