Ghosts of the Innocent | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Ghosts of the Innocent is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Ghosts of the Innocent
—Otak, Tin Street shopkeep
Official Rulings for Ghosts of the Innocent
10/1/2005 : Half of 1 rounded down is 0. A source that would deal 1 damage to a creature or player won't deal damage to that creature or player at all.
10/1/2005 : Multiple Ghosts of the Innocent effects are cumulative, and each will halve the damage, rounded down. For example, with three on the battlefield, 14 damage becomes 7, then 3, then finally 1, and only 1 damage would actually be dealt.
10/1/2005 : This isn't a damage prevention effect. If Excruciator ("Damage that would be dealt by Excruciator can't be prevented") would deal 7 damage to a creature or player, it deals 3 damage instead.
10/1/2005 : If damage is redirected, it's only halved once.
10/1/2005 : If both Ghosts of the Innocent and Furnace of Rath (which doubles damage) are on the battlefield, the controller of the creature being dealt damage or the player being dealt damage can apply the effects in either order. This can matter if the original amount of damage is odd. For example, if a source would deal 3 damage, Ghosts of the Innocent would make it 1 damage, then Furnace of Rath would make it 2 damage, if the player chose to apply the effects in that order.