SHARE
URL:
Link

Garruk, Caller of Beasts | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Garruk, Caller of Beasts is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Garruk, Caller of Beasts is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

14.95
0

Tokens Related to Garruk, Caller of Beasts

Token
Set
Price
In-Stock

Emblem
1.95
6

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Garruk, Caller of Beasts

Card Name:
Garruk, Caller of Beasts
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Garruk

Card Text:
+1: Reveal the top five cards of your library. Put all creature cards revealed this way into your hand and the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.
−3: You may put a green creature card from your hand onto the battlefield.
−7: You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast a creature spell, you may search your library for a creature card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library."

Official Rulings for Garruk, Caller of Beasts

7/1/2013 : You choose what green creature card to put onto the battlefield, if any, when the second ability resolves.

7/1/2013 : If you have Garruk’s emblem, the creature card you search for will be put onto the battlefield before the creature spell you cast resolves. The creature card you put onto the battlefield isn’t cast, so the ability of the emblem won’t retrigger.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

 
 

Comments on Garruk, Caller of Beasts

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Garruk, Caller of Beasts. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Xavier Valentine

Date: June 26, 2013

Comment:

Green EDH Decks that play a lot of creatures (that never happens right?) will love this card. I think the mana cost and limitations might make standard players cry though.