SHARE
URL:
Link

Furnace of Rath | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Furnace of Rath is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Furnace of Rath is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

2.25
2

0.00
0

0.00
0

1.25
1

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Furnace of Rath

Card Name:
Furnace of Rath
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment

Card Text:
If a source would deal damage to a creature or player, it deals double that damage to that creature or player instead.

Flavor Text:
The furnace awaits the next master who would stoke the fires of apocalypse.

Official Rulings for Furnace of Rath

10/4/2004 : If a spell or ability damages multiple things, divide up the damage before applying this effect. This means you can't normally end up with an odd amount of damage on something.

10/4/2004 : The trample rules cause damage to be divided before it is doubled.

10/4/2004 : If you have two of these on the battlefield, the damage is multiplied by 4.

10/4/2004 : The multiplied damage counts in all ways as if it came from the original source. Furnace of Rath is not the source.

8/1/2005 : If multiple effects modify how damage will be dealt, the player who would be dealt damage or the controller of the creature that would be dealt damage chooses the order to apply the effects. For example, Mending Hands says, "Prevent the next 4 damage that would be dealt to target creature or player this turn." Suppose a spell would deal 5 damage to a player who has cast Mending Hands targeting himself or herself. That player can either (a) prevent 4 damage first and then let Furnace of Rath double the remaining 1 damage, taking 2 damage, or (b) double the damage to 10 and then prevent 4 damage, taking 6 damage.

 
 

Comments on Furnace of Rath

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Furnace of Rath. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.