SHARE
URL:
Link

Fortune Thief | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Fortune Thief is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Fortune Thief is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Fortune Thief

Card Name:
Fortune Thief
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Human Rogue

Card Text:
Damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.
Morph (You may cast this face down as a 2/2 creature for . Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

Official Rulings for Fortune Thief

9/25/2006 : The first ability applies only if your life total is being reduced by damage. Other effects or costs (such as "lose 1 life" or "pay 1 life") can reduce your life total below 1 as normal.

9/25/2006 : If an effect asks you to pay life, you can't pay more life than you have.

9/25/2006 : The last sentence is not a prevention effect. It stops unpreventable damage from reducing your life total below 1.

9/25/2006 : The ability doesn't change how much damage is dealt; it just changes how much life that damage makes you lose. An effect such as Spirit Link will see the full amount of damage being dealt.

9/25/2006 : Thief won't prevent you from losing the game if your life total is 0 or less or some other effect causes you to lose the game.

 
 

Comments on Fortune Thief

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Fortune Thief. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.