SHARE
URL:
Link

Flame-Wreathed Phoenix | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Flame-Wreathed Phoenix is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Flame-Wreathed Phoenix is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

3.50
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Flame-Wreathed Phoenix

Card Name:
Flame-Wreathed Phoenix
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Phoenix

Card Text:
Flying
Tribute 2 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may place two +1/+1 counters on it.)
When Flame-Wreathed Phoenix enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, it gains haste and "When this creature dies, return it to its owner's hand."

Official Rulings for Flame-Wreathed Phoenix

2/1/2014 : If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won’t enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.

2/1/2014 : The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won’t know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.

2/1/2014 : If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.

2/1/2014 : Players can’t respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn’t pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.

2/1/2014 : The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn’t on the battlefield at that time.

 
 

Comments on Flame-Wreathed Phoenix

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Flame-Wreathed Phoenix. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.