Festering Wound | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Festering Wound is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Festering Wound
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put an infection counter on Festering Wound.
At the beginning of the upkeep of enchanted creature's controller, Festering Wound deals X damage to that player, where X is the number of infection counters on Festering Wound.
Official Rulings for Festering Wound
10/4/2004 : Putting on a counter is optional. If you forget, you can't go back later even if it is something you usually do.