Exploding Borders | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Exploding Borders is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Exploding Borders
Official Rulings for Exploding Borders
2/1/2009 : How many lands you control of a particular basic land type is irrelevant to a domain ability, as long as that number is greater than zero. As far as domain is concerned, ten Forests is the same as one Forest.
2/1/2009 : A number of nonbasic lands have basic land types. Domain abilities don't count the number of lands you control -- they count the number of basic land types among lands you control, even if that means checking the same land twice. For example, if you control a Tundra, an Overgrown Tomb, and a Madblind Mountain, you'll have a Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest among the lands you control. Your domain abilities will be maxed out.
2/1/2009 : You do what the spell says in order, so you'll put a new basic land card onto the battlefield before you determine the value of X.
2/1/2009 : Exploding Borders will still deal damage even if you don't put a land card onto the battlefield.
2/1/2009 : Exploding Borders has only one target: the player. If that player becomes an illegal target by the time Exploding Borders would resolve, the entire spell is countered. You won't get to search for a basic land card.