SHARE
URL:
Link

Executioner's Swing | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Executioner's Swing is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Executioner's Swing is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
31

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Executioner's Swing

Card Name:
Executioner's Swing
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Target creature that dealt damage this turn gets -5/-5 until end of turn.

Flavor Text:
"The contract specified an appendage for a missed payment. Read the fine print: the head is an appendage."

Official Rulings for Executioner's Swing

1/24/2013 : You can't choose a creature that hasn't yet dealt damage during the turn as the target of Executioner's Swing, so in most cases it's not possible for Executioner's Swing to reduce the amount of combat damage a creature deals. (If a creature has double strike, you could cast Executioner's Swing after it deals first-strike damage but before it deals regular combat damage.)

1/24/2013 : It doesn't matter what the creature dealt damage to or if that damage was combat damage.

 
 

Comments on Executioner's Swing

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Executioner's Swing. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.