Evil Twin | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Evil Twin is Legal in


Sets Evil Twin is in




Official Oracle Text for Evil Twin

Card Name:
Evil Twin
Casting Cost:
Creature — Shapeshifter

Card Text:
You may have Evil Twin enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield except it gains ", : Destroy target creature with the same name as this creature."

Flavor Text:
You can always tell the evil one by the dagger he's sticking in you.

Official Rulings for Evil Twin

9/22/2011 : Evil Twin copies exactly what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below) and it gains the activated ability. It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or any Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

9/22/2011 : If you copy a double-faced creature, Evil Twin will be a copy of the face that's up when Evil Twin enters the battlefield. Because Evil Twin is not a double-faced card, it won't be able to transform.

9/22/2011 : If the chosen creature has in its mana cost, X is considered to be zero.

9/22/2011 : If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Evil Twin), then your Evil Twin enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.

9/22/2011 : If the chosen creature is a token, Evil Twin copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield. Evil Twin is not a token.

9/22/2011 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Evil Twin enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.

9/22/2011 : If Evil Twin somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Evil Twin can't become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that's already on the battlefield.

9/22/2011 : You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Evil Twin enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature, and is probably put into the graveyard immediately.


Comments on Evil Twin

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Evil Twin. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.