SHARE
URL:
Link

Elite Arcanist | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Elite Arcanist is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Elite Arcanist is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Elite Arcanist

Card Name:
Elite Arcanist
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Human Wizard

Card Text:
When Elite Arcanist enters the battlefield, you may exile an instant card from your hand.
, : Copy the exiled card. You may cast the copy without paying its mana cost. X is the converted mana cost of the exiled card.

Official Rulings for Elite Arcanist

7/1/2013 : You don’t choose the value of in the activation cost of Elite Arcanist’s ability. It’s defined by the converted mana cost of the exiled instant card.

7/1/2013 : The copy is created in and cast from exile. You must still follow any timing restrictions, such as “Cast [this spell] only during combat.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t pay any alternative costs such as overload costs. You can pay additional costs such as kicker costs. If the spell has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.

7/1/2013 : If the copied card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value when casting the copy. Don’t confuse that with the in the activation cost of Elite Arcanist’s ability.

7/1/2013 : If the exiled card is a split card, then is the sum of the converted mana costs of each half. However, when you cast the copy, you choose only one half to cast. You may cast a different half each time you create and cast a copy.

7/1/2013 : If Elite Arcanist leaves the battlefield, you will no longer be able to copy the exiled card. If it returns to the battlefield, you’ll be able to exile another instant card from your hand, but Elite Arcanist will be a different permanent with no connection to the first exiled card.

 
 

Comments on Elite Arcanist

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Elite Arcanist. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.