Elderscale Wurm | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Elderscale Wurm is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Elderscale Wurm
When Elderscale Wurm enters the battlefield, if your life total is less than 7, your life total becomes 7.
As long as you have 7 or more life, damage that would reduce your life total to less than 7 reduces it to 7 instead.
Official Rulings for Elderscale Wurm
7/1/2012 : Elderscale Wurm's last ability doesn't affect the loss or payment of life.
7/1/2012 : If you have less than 7 life, damage dealt to you reduces your life total as normal.
7/1/2012 : If damage is dealt to you and Elderscale Wurm at the same time, and that damage is enough to destroy Elderscale Wurm and reduce your life total to 7 or less, Elderscale Wurm's ability will still apply. For example, if you have 10 life and a spell deals 10 damage to you and 10 damage to Elderscale Wurm, you'll end up at 7 life and Elderscale Wurm will be destroyed.
7/1/2012 : In a Commander game, combat damage you're dealt by a commander is still tracked, even if it doesn't change your life total.