SHARE
URL:
Link

Echo Mage | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Echo Mage is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Echo Mage is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

1.75
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Echo Mage

Card Name:
Echo Mage
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Human Wizard

Card Text:
Level up (: Put a level counter on this. Level up only as a sorcery.)
LEVEL 2-3
2/4
, : Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
LEVEL 4+
2/5
, : Copy target instant or sorcery spell twice. You may choose new targets for the copies.

Official Rulings for Echo Mage

6/15/2010 : The abilities a leveler grants to itself don't overwrite any other abilities it may have. In particular, they don't overwrite the creature's level up ability; it always has that.

6/15/2010 : Effects that set a leveler's power or toughness to a specific value, including the effects from a level symbol's ability, apply in timestamp order. The timestamp of each level symbol's ability is the same as the timestamp of the leveler itself, regardless of when the most recent level counter was put on it.

6/15/2010 : Effects that modify a leveler's power or toughness, such as the effects of Giant Growth or Glorious Anthem, will apply to it no matter when they started to take effect. The same is true for counters that change the creature's power or toughness (such as +1/+1 counters) and effects that switch its power and toughness.

6/15/2010 : If another creature becomes a copy of a leveler, all of the leveler's printed abilities -- including those represented by level symbols -- are copied. The current characteristics of the leveler, and the number of level counters on it, are not. The abilities, power, and toughness of the copy will be determined based on how many level counters are on the copy.

6/15/2010 : A creature's level is based on how many level counters it has on it, not how many times its level up ability has been activated or has resolved. If a leveler gets level counters due to some other effect (such as Clockspinning) or loses level counters for some reason (such as Vampire Hexmage), its level is changed accordingly.

6/15/2010 : Echo Mage's last two activated abilities can target (and copy) any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets. It doesn't matter who controls it.

6/15/2010 : When either ability resolves, it creates a copy (or two) of a spell. The copies are created on the stack, so they're not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. Each copy will then resolve like a normal spell, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities. Each copy resolves before the original spell does.

6/15/2010 : Each copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

6/15/2010 : If you activate Echo Mage's last ability to copy a spell twice, you may choose new targets for each copy independently. They don't have to have the same targets as one another. Be sure to specify which of the copies will resolve first.

6/15/2010 : If the spell the ability copies is modal (that is, it says "Choose one --" or the like), each copy will have the same mode as the original spell. You can't choose a different one.

6/15/2010 : If the spell the ability copies has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Earthquake does), each copy has the same value of X as the original spell.

6/15/2010 : You can't choose to pay any additional costs for a copy. However, effects based on any additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for each copy too.

6/15/2010 : If a copy says that it affects "you," it affects the controller of that copy, not the controller of the original spell. Similarly, if a copy says that it affects an "opponent," it affects an opponent of that copy's controller, not an opponent of the original spell's controller.

 
 

Comments on Echo Mage

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Echo Mage. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.