Dreams of the Dead | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Dreams of the Dead is Legal in


Sets Dreams of the Dead is in




Official Oracle Text for Dreams of the Dead

Card Name:
Dreams of the Dead
Casting Cost:

Card Text:
: Return target white or black creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. That creature gains "Cumulative upkeep ." If the creature would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else. (At the beginning of its controller's upkeep, that player puts an age counter on it, then sacrifices it unless he or she pays its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)

Official Rulings for Dreams of the Dead

10/4/2004 : This is a replacement effect.

4/1/2008 : A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.

10/1/2008 : If a creature returned to the battlefield with Dreams of the Dead would leave the battlefield for any reason, it's exiled instead -- unless the spell or ability that's causing the creature to leave the battlefield is actually trying to exile it! In that case, it succeeds at exiling it. If it later returns the creature card to the battlefield (as Oblivion Ring or Flickerwisp might, for example), the creature card will return to the battlefield as a new object with no relation to its previous existence.

4/15/2013 : If a permanent has multiple instances of cumulative upkeep, each triggers separately. However, the age counters are not connected to any particular ability; each cumulative upkeep ability will count the total number of age counters on the permanent at the time that ability resolves.


Comments on Dreams of the Dead

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Dreams of the Dead. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.