SHARE
URL:
Link

Double Negative | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Double Negative is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Double Negative is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.35
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Double Negative

Card Name:
Double Negative
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Counter up to two target spells.

Flavor Text:
They feared each other for their differences but were absolutely terrified at their similarities.

Official Rulings for Double Negative

5/1/2009 : You may cast Double Negative with no targets, one target, or two targets.

5/1/2009 : In order to counter two target spells, both of those spells must be on the stack at the time you cast Double Negative. Two spells can be on the stack at the same time as the result of an ability (such as cascade or replicate), as the result of a copy effect (such as the one from Cloven Casting or Twincast), or because a spell has been cast in response to another spell.

5/1/2009 : It's unusual for a player to cast a spell in response to his or her own spell, and that will be specifically called out when it happens. Under normal circumstances, if a player casts a spell, it is assumed that the player passes priority afterward. If that player casts another spell, it is assumed that each other player has also passed priority, which caused the first spell to resolve and the first player to receive priority again. Unless the first player says otherwise, only one spell will be on the stack at a time in that scenario.

 
 

Comments on Double Negative

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Double Negative. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.