Defense of the Heart | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Defense of the Heart is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Defense of the Heart
Official Rulings for Defense of the Heart
10/4/2004 : You choose how many cards to put onto the battlefield during the resolution after you look through your library. You do not choose as the ability goes on the stack.
10/4/2004 : This triggered ability only triggers if your opponent controls 3 or more creatures at the beginning of upkeep. This condition is checked again on resolution.
4/1/2008 : A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.
6/15/2010 : If this card is not on the battlefield at the time it resolves, then you can't sacrifice it. You still perform the search and put any creature cards you find onto the battlefield.