Decaying Soil | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Decaying Soil is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Decaying Soil
Threshold — As long as seven or more cards are in your graveyard, Decaying Soil has "Whenever a nontoken creature is put into your graveyard from the battlefield, you may pay . If you do, return that card to your hand."
Official Rulings for Decaying Soil
10/4/2004 : The ability in Threshold will trigger only if Threshold was met before the creature goes to the graveyard. So the one that causes Threshold to be met will not trigger the ability.