SHARE
URL:
Link

Dance of the Dead | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Dance of the Dead is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Dance of the Dead is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

1.50
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Dance of the Dead

Card Name:
Dance of the Dead
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment — Aura

Card Text:
Enchant creature card in a graveyard
When Dance of the Dead enters the battlefield, if it's on the battlefield, it loses "enchant creature card in a graveyard" and gains "enchant creature put onto the battlefield with Dance of the Dead." Return enchanted creature card to the battlefield tapped under your control and attach Dance of the Dead to it. When Dance of the Dead leaves the battlefield, that creature's controller sacrifices it.
Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and doesn't untap during its controller's untap step.
At the beginning of the upkeep of enchanted creature's controller, that player may pay . If he or she does, untap that creature.

Official Rulings for Dance of the Dead

10/4/2004 : If more than one Dance of the Dead ends up on a creature, each contributes a +1/+1. But you only have to pay the untap cost once. You may pay for each one, however, and untap the card more than once during upkeep.

4/1/2008 : This is a new wording. Dance of the Dead is now an Aura. You target a creature card in a graveyard when you cast it. It enters the battlefield attached to that card. Then it returns that card to the battlefield, and attaches itself to that card again (since the card is treated as a new object on the battlefield).

4/1/2008 : Once the creature is returned to the battlefield, Dance of the Dead can't be attached to anything other than it (unless Dance of the Dead somehow manages to put a different creature onto the battlefield). Attempting to move Dance of the Dead to another creature won't work.

4/1/2008 : If the creature card put onto the battlefield has Protection from Black (or anything that prevents this from legally being attached), this won't be able to attach to it. Then this will go to the graveyard as a State-Based Action, causing the creature to be sacrificed.

4/1/2008 : A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.

 
 

Comments on Dance of the Dead

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Dance of the Dead. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.