SHARE
URL:
Link

Cruel Ultimatum | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Cruel Ultimatum is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Cruel Ultimatum is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.00
0

0.00
0

1.50
1

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Cruel Ultimatum

Card Name:
Cruel Ultimatum
Casting Cost:
Type:
Sorcery

Card Text:
Target opponent sacrifices a creature, discards three cards, then loses 5 life. You return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, draw three cards, then gain 5 life.

Flavor Text:
There is always a greater power.

Official Rulings for Cruel Ultimatum

10/1/2008 : Cruel Ultimatum's only target is an opponent. You don't choose which creature card in your graveyard you'll return to your hand until Cruel Ultimatum resolves.

10/1/2008 : All of these actions are performed sequentially, in the order listed. Earlier actions may affect how you perform later actions. (For example, if the opponent sacrifices a creature that he or she controls but you own, it will end up in your graveyard. When Cruel Ultimatum lets you return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, you can choose that one.)

10/1/2008 : If, as Cruel Ultimatum begins to resolve, your opponent's life total is 5 or less and you have two or fewer cards in your library, the game will result in a draw. Your opponent's life total will drop to 0 or less, but Cruel Ultimatum must finish resolving completely before state-based actions are checked. You'll then be forced to draw three cards and fail to draw one. When state-based actions are finally checked, you and your opponent will both lose the game at the same time, which means the game is a draw.

 
 

Comments on Cruel Ultimatum

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Cruel Ultimatum. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.