SHARE
URL:
Link

Counterbalance | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Counterbalance is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Counterbalance is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Counterbalance

Card Name:
Counterbalance
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment

Card Text:
Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may reveal the top card of your library. If you do, counter that spell if it has the same converted mana cost as the revealed card.

Official Rulings for Counterbalance

7/15/2006 : If an opponent casts a spell with X in its mana cost, the converted mana cost of that spell takes the value of X into account. If you reveal a card with X in its mana cost, X is 0. For example, if your opponent casts Blaze with X=1, Counterbalance will counter that spell if you reveal a card with converted mana cost 2, but it won't counter that spell if you reveal a Blaze of your own.

7/15/2006 : If an opponent casts half of a split card (for example, Hit), and you reveal a split card where half of it has the same converted mana cost (for example, Hit/Run or Stand/Deliver), Counterbalance will counter the spell.

 
 

Comments on Counterbalance

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Counterbalance. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.