Council of the Absolute | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Council of the Absolute is Legal in


Sets Council of the Absolute is in




Official Oracle Text for Council of the Absolute

Card Name:
Council of the Absolute
Casting Cost:
Creature — Human Advisor

Card Text:
As Council of the Absolute enters the battlefield, name a card other than a creature or land card.
Your opponents can't cast cards with the chosen name.
Spells with the chosen name you cast cost less to cast.

Official Rulings for Council of the Absolute

4/15/2013 : The last ability can't reduce the colored mana requirement of a spell.

4/15/2013 : If there are additional costs to cast the spell, such as kicker costs, apply those increases before applying cost reductions.

4/15/2013 : The last ability can reduce alternative costs such as overload costs.

4/15/2013 : If a spell with the chosen name includes one generic mana in its cost to cast, that cost will be reduced by .

4/15/2013 : You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you name half of a split card, your opponents can cast the other half. If that split card has fuse, your opponents can't cast that card as a fused split card.

4/15/2013 : If you name half of a split card with fuse, and then you cast both halves, the cost reduction will apply to the total cost of the spell. This is true even if the half with the chosen name requires only colored mana to cast.


Comments on Council of the Absolute

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Council of the Absolute. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Mtgdbas

Date: April 14, 2013


This is a really bad mythic.

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: April 14, 2013


It's certainly not the best mythic ever but I don't think it's the worst either. This could find a place in multi-player matches or in a sideboard against mirror matches.