Collective Restraint | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Collective Restraint is Legal in


Sets Collective Restraint is in




Official Oracle Text for Collective Restraint

Card Name:
Collective Restraint
Casting Cost:

Card Text:
Domain — Creatures can't attack you unless their controller pays for each creature he or she controls that's attacking you, where X is the number of basic land types among lands you control.

Official Rulings for Collective Restraint

2/1/2007 : In the Two-Headed Giant format, you still only have to pay once per creature.

2/1/2009 : To determine the number of basic land types among lands you control, look at the lands you have on the battlefield and ask yourself whether the subtypes Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest appear within that group. The number of times you say yes (topping out at five) tells you how powerful your domain abilities will be.

2/1/2009 : How many lands you control of a particular basic land type is irrelevant to a domain ability, as long as that number is greater than zero. As far as domain is concerned, ten Forests is the same as one Forest.

2/1/2009 : A number of nonbasic lands have basic land types. Domain abilities don't count the number of lands you control -- they count the number of basic land types among lands you control, even if that means checking the same land twice. For example, if you control a Tundra, an Overgrown Tomb, and a Madblind Mountain, you'll have a Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest among the lands you control. Your domain abilities will be maxed out.

2/1/2014 : Unless some effect explicitly says otherwise, a creature that can't attack you can still attack a planeswalker you control.


Comments on Collective Restraint

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Collective Restraint. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.