Clone Shell | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Clone Shell is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Clone Shell
When Clone Shell dies, turn the exiled card face up. If it's a creature card, put it onto the battlefield under your control.
Official Rulings for Clone Shell
1/1/2011 : As Clone Shell's first ability resolves, you must exile one of the cards you look at, even if none of them is a creature card.
1/1/2011 : As Clone Shell's second ability resolves, if the exiled card is not a creature card, it simply remains in exile face up.
1/1/2011 : If you gain control of another player's Clone Shell, you won't be able to look at the face-down exiled card. However, if Clone Shell is put into a graveyard, you will turn that card face up as the ability resolves and, if it's a creature card, you will put it onto the battlefield under your control (even if you don't want to).