SHARE
URL:
Link

Clone | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Clone is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Clone is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.95
2

0.95
3

0.00
0

0.95
0

0.95
0

0.00
0

0.00
0

0.00
0

1.50
3

0.00
0

0.00
0

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Clone

Card Name:
Clone
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Shapeshifter

Card Text:
You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.

Flavor Text:
He knows your strengths, your weaknesses, and the shape of that unfortunate birthmark on your backside.

Official Rulings for Clone

7/15/2007 : If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Clone), then your Clone enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.

7/15/2007 : If the chosen creature is a token, Clone copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield. Clone is not a token.

7/15/2007 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Clone enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.

10/1/2009 : If the chosen creature has in its mana cost (such as Protean Hydra), X is considered to be zero.

7/1/2012 : Clone copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing more (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

7/1/2012 : If Clone somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Clone can't become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that's already on the battlefield.

7/1/2012 : You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Clone enters the battlefield as a 0/0 Shapeshifter creature, and is probably put into the graveyard immediately.

7/1/2013 : Clone's ability doesn’t target the chosen creature.

 
 

Comments on Clone

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Clone. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.