SHARE
URL:
Link

Chandra, Pyromaster | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Chandra, Pyromaster is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Chandra, Pyromaster is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

9.95
0

10.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Chandra, Pyromaster

Card Name:
Chandra, Pyromaster
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Chandra

Card Text:
+1: Chandra, Pyromaster deals 1 damage to target player and 1 damage to up to one target creature that player controls. That creature can't block this turn.
0: Exile the top card of your library. You may play it this turn.
−7: Exile the top ten cards of your library. Choose an instant or sorcery card exiled this way and copy it three times. You may cast the copies without paying their mana costs.

Official Rulings for Chandra, Pyromaster

7/1/2013 : To activate the first ability, you must target a player but you can choose to not target any creatures.

7/1/2013 : If a creature is targeted by the first ability, it won’t be able to block even if the damage is prevented.

7/1/2013 : The card exiled by the second ability is exiled face up. Playing it follows the normal rules for playing that card. You must pay its costs, and you must follow all applicable timing rules. For example, if it’s a creature card, you can cast it only during your main phase while the stack is empty.

7/1/2013 : If you exile a land card using the second ability, you may play that land only if you have any available land plays. Normally, this means you can play the land only if you haven’t played a land yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : In the third ability, “exiled this way” means the cards you just exiled because of that ability resolving. Cards exiled with the second ability or with previous activations of the third ability don’t count.

7/1/2013 : While resolving the third ability, you create the copies of the card in exile and cast them from exile. You can cast zero, one, two, or all three copies. The card itself isn’t cast. It remains exiled.

7/1/2013 : While casting the copies for the third ability, timing restrictions based on the card’s type (such as sorcery) are ignored. Other restrictions, such as “Cast [this spell] only during combat,” are not.

7/1/2013 : Because you’re playing the copies “without paying their mana costs,” you can’t pay any alternative costs for the copies. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the copies have any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.

7/1/2013 : If the copied card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value when casting the copies.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

 
 

Comments on Chandra, Pyromaster

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Chandra, Pyromaster. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Adrian Luna

Date: July 01, 2013

Comment:

1ST^ OMG dat card tho

Author: Jacob collins

Date: July 01, 2013

Comment:

I........LOVE THIS!!! This combos well with any card that gets fortunate enough to get hit by her 0 ability. extra land? Sure! Free Thundermaw Hellkites and Thragtusks? Absolutely! ooh, I exiled the New Garruk, lets play him for free and use his +1 this turn! I beleive they made Chandra Epic this time around, and i want my 4, not to mention her phoenix too.

Author: kq

Date: July 01, 2013

Comment:

You dont get to play things for free with her 0 ability. It just says you may play it, and only this turn. Still have to pay..

Author: Sascha Mack

Date: July 06, 2013

Comment:

I think, the "0" ability was menat to play free lands AND that the exiled card may count for the ultimate ability, but it isn't so...
But the mana costs and loyality-counters are very good for the first and last ability! Quite good playable...

Author: Miguel Ferreira

Date: July 06, 2013

Comment:

we can have 2 planeswalkers in one deck (differents planeswalkers)
please help me

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: July 06, 2013

Comment:

You can add as many planeswalkers to a deck as you like as long as you don't add more than 4 of the same card. You can only have 1 of each planeswalker in play at the same time though.

Author: Nathan

Date: July 08, 2013

Comment:

Jacob, sorry to ruin your party but you don't cast them for free. You just get to cast them (by paying their mana cost). Still a good cards though

Author: Dragonis

Date: July 08, 2013

Comment:

Just to clarify in case anyone confuses the answer, you may have 1 of each different type of Planeswalker (i.e. Chandra, Tamiyo, Jace, etc.) on the battlefield on your side. However you cannot have 2 Jace's (Jace, Memory Adept & Jace, Architect of Thought) on the battlefield on your side at the same time. You must kill one of them.
(rules as of this Saturday)

Author: Dragonis

Date: July 08, 2013

Comment:

Actually it doesn't say cast. It says play meaning yes you can get the free extra land, but yes any spells MUST have their cost paid.

Author: Nathan

Date: July 09, 2013

Comment:

No you do NOT get an extra land if you've already played one that turn. All normal playing/casting rules apply.

Author: nate

Date: July 15, 2013

Comment:

You don't play the exiled card for free.

Author: nate

Date: July 15, 2013

Comment:

Red Blue Self Mill Chandra and Jace, JK really bad.