SHARE
URL:
Link

Chain Lightning | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Chain Lightning is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Chain Lightning is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Chain Lightning

Card Name:
Chain Lightning
Casting Cost:
Type:
Sorcery

Card Text:
Chain Lightning deals 3 damage to target creature or player. Then that player or that creature's controller may pay . If the player does, he or she may copy this spell and may choose a new target for that copy.

Official Rulings for Chain Lightning

10/4/2004 : The copy is a spell, so it can be targeted by other spells and abilities that target a spell.

10/4/2004 : The player putting the copy spell on the stack controls that spell.

10/4/2004 : The spell copy has all the text and can result in itself being copied.

10/1/2009 : As Chain Lightning resolves, the targeted player, or the controller of the targeted creature, may copy it. The copy has the same text, target, and color of the resolving spell, though the player who's copying it may choose a new target for it. Once that copy is created (or not), the resolving Chain Lightning has finished resolving and leaves the stack.

10/1/2009 : If the targeted creature or player is an illegal target by the time Chain Lightning resolves, the spell is countered. It won't be copied.

 
 

Comments on Chain Lightning

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Chain Lightning. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.