SHARE
URL:
Link

Cataclysm | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Cataclysm is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Cataclysm is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Cataclysm

Card Name:
Cataclysm
Casting Cost:
Type:
Sorcery

Card Text:
Each player chooses from the permanents he or she controls an artifact, a creature, an enchantment, and a land, then sacrifices the rest.

Flavor Text:
The Weatherlight dragged the Predator behind it, the cradle hauling the casket.

Official Rulings for Cataclysm

10/4/2004 : If you control a permanent with more than one type, you can choose that same permanent for more than one of the choices if you want to. This makes it possible to select an artifact creature as both your artifact and creature, and then select a land and thereby keep only two cards.

10/4/2004 : If you control a permanent with more than one type, you can choose that permanent to be the representative of either type. This makes it possible to have more than one creature (or other permanent type) on the battlefield. For example, if you select a creature for your creature and an artifact creature for your artifact, you get to keep both of these creatures.

10/4/2004 : The permanents to save are chosen on resolution. You do not choose them when casting the spell.

10/4/2004 : The current player makes their choices before the other player. After both players make choices, all the sacrifices are done simultaneously.

2/1/2014 : Each permanent not chosen by a player will be sacrificed. If a permanent has none of the listed types (for example, a Planeswalker with no other types), it can't be chosen.

 
 

Comments on Cataclysm

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Cataclysm. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.