Caldera Hellion | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Caldera Hellion is Legal in


Sets Caldera Hellion is in




Official Oracle Text for Caldera Hellion

Card Name:
Caldera Hellion
Casting Cost:
Creature — Hellion

Card Text:
Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)
When Caldera Hellion enters the battlefield, it deals 3 damage to each creature.

Official Rulings for Caldera Hellion

10/1/2008 : You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.

10/1/2008 : If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.

10/1/2008 : You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.

10/1/2008 : If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.

10/1/2008 : Caldera Hellion will deal 3 damage to itself (as well as to each other creature) when its enters-the-battlefield ability resolves. This damage will be lethal if Caldera Hellion hasn't devoured any creatures and its toughness hasn't been increased by any other means.


Comments on Caldera Hellion

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Caldera Hellion. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.