Cackling Counterpart | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Cackling Counterpart is Legal in


Sets Cackling Counterpart is in




Official Oracle Text for Cackling Counterpart

Card Name:
Cackling Counterpart
Casting Cost:

Card Text:
Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of target creature you control.
Flashback (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Official Rulings for Cackling Counterpart

9/22/2011 : The token copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing else (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

9/22/2011 : If you copy a double-faced creature, the token will be a copy of the face that's up when the token is created. Because the token is not a double-faced card, it won't be able to transform.

9/22/2011 : If the copied creature has in its mana cost, X is considered to be zero.

9/22/2011 : If the copied creature is copying something else (for example, if the copied creature is an Evil Twin), then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that creature copied.

9/22/2011 : If the copied creature is a token, the token that's created copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield.

9/22/2011 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.


Comments on Cackling Counterpart

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Cackling Counterpart. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.